You are here

Board Members

The Oklahoma Statewide Virtual Charter School Board members are appointed by the Governor of Oklahoma, Oklahoma Senate President Pro Tempore, or the Oklahoma Speaker of the House.


Dr. Robert Franklin - First Congressional District

Email Robert Franklin

Oklahoma Statewide Virtual Charter School Board Chairman

Tulsa Technology Center Associate Superintendent for Student Affairs

Prior to service at Tulsa Technology Center, held teaching and leadership positions at Sand Springs Schools for 29 years including special education teacher, principal, Title IV Director and assistant superintendent

Co-founder of Make Promises Happen, a camping and therapeutic recreational program for individuals with special needs

PHYLLIS SHEPHERD - SECOND Congressional District

Email Phyllis Shepherd

Middle school math director

Thirty (30) years of education experience

Graduate of Northeastern Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma State University, and the University of Arkansas

Member of the American Quarter Horse Association and American Limousin Association

Member of Oklahoma Education Association, National Education Association, and Oklahoma Retired Teacher Association

Mathew Hamrick - Third Congressional District

Email Mathew Hamrick

Received B.A. in Political Science from the University of Central Oklahoma; completing graduate studies in Public Administration

Currently employed with the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health

Prior to joining state service, was a consultant with an international educational not-for-profit foundation traveling to universities throughout the United States and Canada providing training to student groups in organizational behavior, leadership development and finances

Barry Beauchamp - Fourth Congressional District

Email Barry Beauchamp

Oklahoma Statewide Virtual Charter School Board Clerk

Former Superintendent of Schools in Lawton, Oklahoma

Served on the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation, Education Advisory Council, Governor’s Task Force for the Prevention of Teenage Pregnancy, OETA Foundation Board of Directors, and Governor’s Task Force on Creating Administrative Efficiencies

Currently serves on the Board of Directors for Great Expectations and National Association of Federally Impacted Schools

2005 Oklahoma School Public Relations Association Administrator of the Year

2010 Legends of Crossroads Award Recipient for work with early childhood education

Dr. Brandon Tatum - Fifth Congressional District

Dr. Brandon Tatum

Oklahoma Statewide Virtual Charter School Board Vice-Chairman

Founder and CEO of CONNECTedu

Doctorate of Education from Abilene Christian University in Organizational Leadership with an emphasis in Higher Education

Chair of the National Christian School Association Board of Trustees

Previously served on the Governor’s Oklahoma Innovation in Education subcommittee

Former president of Oklahoma Christian Academy

Author of children’s books

Joy Hofmeister - State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Oklahoma’s 14th State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Serves on multiple commissions and state boards, chairs the State Board of Education and State Board of Career and Technology Education

Former Oklahoma State Board of Education member

Former public school teacher and Kumon Math and Reading Centers small business owner 

SVCSB Ex-officio non-voting member

Ryan Walters - Secretary of Education

High school history teacher, including Advanced Placement courses in World History, U.S. History and U. S. Government

2016 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year Finalist

CEO of Every Kid Counts Oklahoma

Previously served as the executive director of Oklahoma Achieves, an education initiative of the State Chamber of Oklahoma

Governor’s appointee as a commissioner of the Office of Education Quality and Accountability

SVCSB Ex-officio non-voting member